Cheap is the name of the game…

People often ask me about prices in Nepal. I guess everyone assumes that, because Nepal is a third world country, prices would be unbelievably low and everything would be dirt cheap. But it’s not exactly like that. Food here is expensive, and especially if you’re on a western diet you need to be prepared to spend a lot of money in the grocery store. The standard of living here is very low, but the prices are the same as in Croatia or USA. Sometimes even higher! I was excited to have found whipping cream in the store and was reaching for it happily when I realized the price of it is 550 NPR. That’s almost USD 6, or 35 HRK!!! No whipping for me here. However, if you buy local products or go into the local market, you’ll get stuff in a very cheap price (especially if you can somehow mask the white skin).

I have been saying every day that I need to learn Nepali because it is becoming increasingly more difficult for me to get around, communicate with family and sometimes even friends. I have one book that I bought before coming here but it proved to be too much of an undertaking to study from it, so it’s just sitting in my drawer. Yesterday my husband showed up at home with a teach-yourself-Nepali book that is full of useful and simply explained phrases so that I can start practicing my Nepali. This morning I took a closer look at the book and realized the price of the book is 240NPR (USD 2.5 or 14 HRK). Can you believe that? Where in the world can you get a book for 14 HRK??? I’m actually convinced you can hardly get a notebook for that price, let alone a whole book!

Does it get any cheaper than this?

Does it get any cheaper than this?

If the prices of all books here are as low as that one, I might just build myself a library here. Finally I’ll be able to afford to attend to my book addiction.

10 thoughts on “Cheap is the name of the game…

  1. Books are cheaper since we get the low priced editions that come from India. Regarding the whipping cream, get the fresh Cream from local dairy and whip it using mechanical whipper(since no electricity), it’s cheaper and definitely tastes better 🙂

  2. I had the same experience. nepal after many months I was hungry to Parmesan cheese. However, the cost in about 10 euro in bhat batheni. It was really too much for me. I loved the local markets. Everything was so fresh and often looked better than in Germany. I loved the most fruit. there is actually still the delicious mangos?

    • I haven’t been to the market myself yet, but the fruit and vegetables we get at home are really nice. Mangos are probably the best food I have ever put in my mouth. I love them; they are so amazingly sweet and juicy. Unlike the ones you can get in Europe.

Leave a Reply

