Wedding madness

Before Mr.B and I decided on our wedding date in Nepal, I was told it needs to be within the “wedding season”. The wedding season?, I asked in disbelief. Apparently, there is such thing. Couple of times a year there are certain dates on which people get married. I had no problem with that, leaving the decision up to Mr.B.’s mom. The date was set and I kind of knew that there would be other weddings going on at the same time, but I had no clue that there would be so many other weddings going on at the same time. Trying to get a good wedding venue for those dates was as hard as trying to squeeze your freshly-lotioned legs in skinny jeans.

When the auspicious dates came music was blasting all over. I was sitting innocently in the kitchen, reading my book when I heard a horn, and when I say a horn I mean like a brass instrument type of horn, and then suddenly I could tell it was the whole orchestra out there. I thought: oh my, there must be some kind of festival going on! so I went to the window to check it out. I saw all my neighbors up on their roofs with gleeful expressions on their faces, so I ran up to our roof to get a better view of what was going on. To my great surprise and delight what I spotted was no festival. It was a wedding procession! It looked so lovely and so much fun, I was beaming down from the roof.

The wedding procession was led by a an orchestra dressed in white and red outfits, and with brass folk instruments. Imagine an American high school band. That’s what they looked like. They were playing this fun sounding tune, sort of like a march, but happier. Right behind them were ladies all dressed in red, dancing their heads off, right there, in the middle of the street. They were looking up to the roofs waiving to their curious spectators (everyone got a bit confused when they saw me, so no one waived at me). Behind them were men with an obvious urge to succumb to the happy music, but instead acting cool and proud. Then came a decorated car with a groom. Cars here are covered in flowers. Not like one big flower arrangement on the hood, like in Croatia, but totally and completely covered in flowers. Everywhere. I have no idea how people even get in and out of these cars. Car was followed by yet another band! Yes, another band. This one was smaller in number, less loud, and not dressed as nicely. But it had bagpipe! A bagpipe! That made me squeak in delight!

March away, my orchestra

No bagpipe!? What kind of a band is this!? Well this obviously wasn’t the band that I saw in the street, but you get the picture.

I was so happy I got to see that. It was really an amazing procession. So I went back to my book in the kitchen, when again I heard the band with a slightly different tune. But, interestingly enough, pretty soon I heard another one, and another one. And the following day more of them. Wow, people really like to get married here. Our street is pretty small yet so many weddings were going on here in just two days. I can only imagine what the rest of Kathmandu must’ve looked like. I guess that’s what the wedding season is all about.

Our wedding did not have a procession. In fact, our wedding had to be postponed to a later date, maybe in the following wedding season, but even then I doubt we will have a procession. The purpose of it is for the groom and his entourage to go and get the bride in her house. Since I am already staying with the groom, that might be a little hard to arrange. But I’m sure the wedding will be special in it’s own way, even without a Nepali guy bagpiping behind our back.

7 thoughts on “Wedding madness

  1. we also had to get the prospective dates checked with the parents and sister (didi). apparently it’s to do with the starsigns and lining up the lucky months? october/november is lucky time because of all the festivals goins on. when is ur wedding? ours is less than 4 months away…eekk

    • Good luck with wedding preparations! It gets very stressful, but at the same time it’s exciting and enjoyable. Our wedding needed to be postponed so at this point we don’t have a new date yet.

  2. First of all congratulations :). In Nepal, the auspicious date for wedding will be determined/calculated according to the birthchart of either the groom or the bride or both :).

  3. I am so glad I found this post. I could not find much information online about wedding planning in Nepal, especially from a foreigner’s perspective. We just started planning our wedding in Nepal. From what I understood, auspicious dates change from year to year. I thought October 2014 would be perfect due to weather etc., however next year it’s a no-marriage month. The date is not as much of an issue as trying to decide on the venue. So far, I made a list of hotel venues, which provide good service, but can get pricey if many people are invited (we are funding our own wedding). I would love to hear from any of you about organizing your own wedding. Are there any good party palaces that you know of? Thank you 🙂

    • Hotels are always a good option, but as you said, they can get a bit pricey. There are some nice party places, like for example Indreni or Amrapali Banquet in Bhat Bhatteni.
      In general though, outside of hotels it might be a bit hard to find a really nice not pricey place to fit western standards.

      • Thank you so much for your response. I will check out the ones you listed. We will continue exploring our options and hopefully will come to a good compromise. 🙂

Leave a Reply

