Saying goodbye to working life (for now)

It took me several days to finally get my emotions straight and to talk about leaving my work without my eyes getting all watery. Monday was the last day at my job. It was a bittersweet moment. I am happy to be going to Nepal and finally live with my husband, but I am sad to be unemployed, again. I am also sad for leaving the awesomest colleagues I had in a while. The job was OK too. But the colleagues were the best and as I fed them cake, sesame rolls and white wine, tears rolled down my cheeks. I couldn’t stop. At one point I thought maybe I’m exaggerating, I’m embarrassing myself, but as soon as someone would approach me with kind words, good luck, and a hug, the waterworks would start again.

Not once have I asked myself whether I’m doing the right thing; after all, it’s not easy to find a job these days and I was blessed with a secure and well-paid position. But on the other hand, a job itself does not make me happy. I still go to bed alone thinking of my husband on the other side of the world. So I suppose my decision is reasonable, and understandable. I like to think the majority of people would make the same decision. Somehow it makes me feel better.

I am traveling in just a little bit over three weeks and once I land in Kathmandu my new life begins. But also another job search. Some more resume sending, hoping, waiting, praying, crying… Hopefully a job comes along so Mr.B. and I can finally, truly start our life together. It’s been way too long since we’ve been waiting on this…

4 thoughts on “Saying goodbye to working life (for now)

  1. My dear friend, I am so happy that I can read your posts as soon as you post them, through a notification via e-mail. I love love your posts. I always have to stop everything I am doing to read them. But I have to admit that this brought tears to my eyes. You will both do great in Nepal, I’ve no doubt. I can’t wait to visit you there soon.

  2. I don’t think you’re exaggerating at all! It’s the people in our lives that make it what it is. But at the same time, you must follow your heart and your love. I completely understand! All the best of luck on your upcoming exciting chapter!

Leave a Reply

